Accreditation for Quality Management Systems

Accreditation for Quality Management Systems by IAC


Accreditation for Quality Management Systems (QMS) is a process that involves the evaluation and recognition of an organization's adherence to specific quality standards. Accreditation provides assurance to customers, stakeholders, and regulators that the organization's QMS meets recognized criteria for quality and reliability.


Conforming Standards and Requirements for ISO 9001 Accreditation:

A certification body that applies for ISO 9001 accreditation must conform to ISO/IEC 17021-1 and ISO/IEC 17021-3 standards, as well as comply with other international requirements outlined in the Specific Requirements for Accreditation for QMS Scheme.

ISO/IEC 17021-1 is the standard that sets the requirements for the competence, consistency, and impartiality of certification bodies performing management system certifications. It outlines the general principles and criteria that certification bodies should follow in order to ensure reliable and consistent certification processes.

ISO/IEC 17021-3 provides specific requirements for certification bodies conducting audits and certification of quality management systems. It focuses on the competence and impartiality of the audit teams, the audit process, and the certification decision-making process.

In addition to these standards, specific requirements for accreditation for the QMS scheme may be established by the accreditation body or relevant industry-specific bodies. These requirements could include additional criteria, guidelines, or procedures that certification bodies need to meet in order to obtain accreditation for ISO 9001 certification.

By conforming to ISO/IEC 17021-1, ISO/IEC 17021-3, and the specific requirements for accreditation, certification bodies can demonstrate their adherence to internationally recognized standards and ensure that their certification services for ISO 9001 are credible, reliable, and consistent.


The Accreditation Process:

There are several well-known accreditation bodies that assess and grant accreditation for QMS. One prominent example is the International Organization for Standardization (ISO). ISO offers a widely recognized standard called ISO 9001, which sets the criteria for a quality management system. Organizations can seek accreditation ISO by demonstrating their compliance with the ISO 9001 standard through a comprehensive audit process.

The accreditation process typically involves the following steps:



Accreditation for QMS helps organizations enhance their credibility, demonstrate their commitment to quality, and improve their overall performance. It also enables them to compete effectively in the market by meeting customer expectations and regulatory requirements.

It's important to note that while ISO 9001 is a widely recognized standard, there may be other industry-specific standards and accreditation bodies that organizations can pursue, depending on their sector or market requirements.

Our Contact Information
  • 27777 Franklin Road Suite 1000 Southfield, MI 48034, USA
  • T
  • E